DE Question

Welcome Forums General Forum DE Question

This topic contains 4 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  Larry F 2 months, 2 weeks ago.

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author

Larry F
    Participant

My first DE on the weekend was a blast, I learned a lot and improved immensely. I thought I was a smooth driver before the weekend, but found I was mistaken! And the work detail was a lot of fun, giving me an opportunity to meet other drivers, and view all the cars.

I do have a question though, that came out of some of my corners that I approached a bit faster than usual, which often ended up in a later or more abrupt turn-in. For the experienced drivers, do you adjust where you start to brake, how hard you brake, or a combination? Does the turn in point stay the same, except maybe the reaction time to start needs to move ahead?

Thanks in advance.

Larry

DaveOsborne
    Participant

Hi Larry,

Your turn in point generally remains the same. It’s important to have all of your “work” done prior to turn in so the car maintains the most grip. The faster you go is the harder or earlier that you brake and shift.

Glad you’re getting so much out of DE. That’s why we do it!

Wild Weasel
    Wild Weasel
    Participant

Honestly… you’re best off bringing this up with your instructor at the start of the next event and then telling him/her what you’re doing as you’re doing it.

It’s just about impossible from your description, especially since it was your first time, to really understand what you’re asking.

A lot of it is going to come down to how comfortable you are with the things that can go wrong. If you can counter-steer and chase the car to the outside of the track, then if you’re only a bit faster than you’d like to be I’d just go for it and see if it sticks. On the regular line you’ve got room to chase it out a bit and just not accelerate after the apex.