2012 UCR Year in Review

camp4 074

2012 Was Yet Another Stellar Year for UCR

Here are just a few of the highlights of our great many events and the stories our members contributed.

Compiled by Kye Wankum, Provinz Editor-In-Chief

DSC_2323 - Copy

January Social at Mimico Cruising Club

(February 2012 issue)
UCR Members were once again treated to the wit and humour of Tom Hnatiw of Dream Car Garage and Hard Drive fame. Sadly, Tom passed away later in the year.
Photo by Mario Marrello, UCR President, 2011 & 2012
Read The Full Article, Click Here

 

skiing 003

UCR Ski Day

(April 2012 issue)
Once again, in March of this year, record numbers came out to participate in this annual UCR tradition and a playful day in the white stuff.
Photo by Phil Downe
Read The Full Article, Click Here

_L6T7719_20_21Enhancer - Copy

Introduction of the all new Porsche 991

(April 2012 issue)
I remember being in a last minute bind for a suitable cover for the April issue and, like many times before and since, asked Eshel Zweig, our Photo Editor for help. He managed to convince the good folks at Pfaff Porsche to make a car available for some great photos of this gorgeous new Porsche.
Photo by Eshel Zweig
Read The Full Article, Click Here

_L6T8335

Tire test with the GT3 RS vs. the new Porsche 991

(May 2012 issue)
Jeff Pabst and Jimmy Vervitas of Pfaff Tuning and longtime UCR member, Michael Tamblyn met up with Eshel and myself at the Mosport development track on a brisk day in April to find that the new Porsche 991 was able to out-handle the 911 GT3 RS on the same tires! Incredible!
Photo by Eshel Zweig
Read The Full Article, Click Here

camp4 049

Porsche Camp 4

(June 2012 issue)
This year, Eshel Zweig was lucky to be able to attend the Porsche Camp 4 winter driving experience. The photos speak for themselves; here’s an alternative to having fun in the white stuff and learn something too…
Photo by Eshel Zweig
Read The Full Article, Click Here

 

_L6T9175_6_7Adjust

One of 17 – The 964 Turbo S

(June 2012 issue)
UCR Member, Joseph Dren contacted me saying that he had just purchased a very rare car and that he would like to submit an article on it. I jumped at the opportunity and arranged a Sunday
photo shoot along with Eshel Zweig. On Mother’s Day, no less… but I think we all came away unscathed after spending an afternoon with this gorgeous car.
Photo by Eshel Zweig
Read The Full Article, Click Here

IMG_8264

Ten days with the 991

(July 2012 issue)
Okay, so I too managed to get my hands on this new 911 from Porsche Cars Canada, but… 10 days? How did he swing that? Ronan McGrath, owner of both generations of the 997 GT3 RS
called his article an unfair comparison; maybe he didn’t read the May issue of Provinz…
Photo by Ronan McGrath
Read The Full Article, Click Here

_MG_0401

Victoria Day Speedfest

(July 2012 issue)
As part of this race event, traditionally known as the May Two-Four weekend, we saw the return of the IMSA GT3 Cup Challenge Canada to what is now called Canadian Tire Motorsport Park, after a slow start for the series last year. Several of our very own club members responded to the call this year and have helped filling the ranks to make for very respectable fields in this exciting new race series..
Photo by Eshel Zweig
Read The Full Article, Click Here

_L6T8569

UCR Open House

(June 2012 issue)
Formerly known as Shift-Into-Spring, the PCA/UCR Open House has been very ably organized by fellow member, Paul Ip for two years now. This year, we were lucky to have very good weather and record numbers came out to the Markham Fairgrounds to meet and greet and get informed of what the UCR season had in store.
Photo by Eshel Zweig
Read The Full Article, Click Here

IMG_1359

Rally at the Forks

(August 2012 issue)
To say that we have a very able Rally Master to organize our Rallies would be a true but incomplete statement; it is Sajjad Butt’s entire family that should be credited for putting on these fantastic UCR Rally events. Be sure to participate next year!
Photo by Sadia Butt
Read The Full Article, Click Here

 

2011-409-4310

Autocross Series – Mid-Season Update

(August 2012 issue)
The revived UCR Autocross Series, so very ably organized byour past president, Mario Marrello, has been seeing record attendance numbers all year. This is good, clean and inexpensive fun with a bit of a competitive edge and a big social aspect.
Photo by Michael A. Coates
Read The Full Article, Click Here

Connor

Porsche-Abilities

(August 2012 issue)
What an awesome event! The pictures say it all… This day was put together by many from UCR and The Durham Down Syndrome Association and succeeded because of the selfless efforts of all involved. Let’s do it again next year!
Photo by Jill Clements-Baartman
Read The Full Article, Click Here

 

424U3257

The Yorkville Exotic Car Show

(August 2012 issue)
This year being the third for the event, it was bigger and better than ever. Imagine Bloor Street closed down and covered with a red carpet, with millions of dollars worth of automobiles to be ogled on either side. The brain child of UCR member, Phil Downe has become a Toronto institution. It has also offered UCR the opportunity to present itself to the local world of car enthusiasts with a presence there.
Photos by Henry Lin
Read The Full Article, Click Here

_MG_0434

The new Porsche Boxster

(August 2012 issue)
Once again Eshel Zweig managed to get in the thick of it and attend the official Porsche launch of the new Boxster. Is there a term like Automobilia Paparazzo? Eshel would fit the bill… The car, of course, has met rave reviews…
Photo by Eshel Zweig
Read The Full Article, Click Here

Audi Track day 019

The 2012 UCR Concours

(September 2012 issue)
Well, we went here, we went there, we even tried the paddock at Mosport but, obviously, everyone loves the Appleby College location. We were back on the grass and had a record turn-out. Funny enough, the parking lot was filled with as many Porsches as the Concours field itself. Don’t they know that we don’t take things all that seriously and that really it’s just a fun time and a show and shine?
Photo by Eshel Zweig
Read The Full Article, Click Here

DSC_0840

The ALMS Experience

(September 2012 issue)
The ALMS (American Le Mans Series) has been coming to Mosport since 1999 – the weekend has become a big tradition to the race fans. UCR Member, Robert Moniz, now recently elected treasurer for UCR, sent in a nice story about family time spent at the race with his sons and friends.
Photo by Robert Moniz
Read The Full Article, Click Here

ALMS (Sat)-9343

UCR members in the IMSA GT3 Cup Challenge Canada

(October 2012 issue)
October saw us review the second season of this race series and the rather large number of UCR members who participate in it. We love to cheer on our buddies, so that’s what that was all about…
Photo by Eshel Zweig
Read The Full Article, Click Here

DSCN0575 - Copy

Five Years On – The GT3 RS

(October 2012 issue)
Ronan McGrath gives us a run-down on how he’s fared with his five-year old RS. Meanwhile he had picked up his second generation RS directly in Germany and took it on the Nurburgring and that’s where things would get interesting to me but I think he still owes us that article…
Photos by Ronan McGrath
Read The Full Article, Click Here

 

_MG_2482

Collingwood Fun Run

(November 2012 issue)
Although the event was organized by Hazel de Burgh and Don Lewtas, it was new member, Mark Solomon who contributed the article with his impressions on the first ever UCR fun run he participated in.
Photo by Hazel de Burgh
Read The Full Article, Click Here
7967077264_defb0edbda_o

Targa Muskoka

(November 2012 issue)
By all accounts, President-Elect, Walter Murray organized a fantastic event together with UCR Rally Master, Sajjad Butt in the Targa Muskoka. The fact that the event was sold out a month or so ahead of time may have had something to do with the incredible amount of promo Walter placed in Provinz for what now seems like it may have been an entire year…
Photo by Hazel de Burgh
Read The Full Article, Click Here
fun run 14[1]

North Shore Lake Erie Fun Run

(November 2012 issue)
Provinz advertiser and UCR supporter, Porsche of London organized a fun run for those members west of the Greater Toronto Area who may not often find the opportunity to participate in events closer to the GTA or east of there. The strong turn-out proved that more events need to be organized for that area of Upper Canada Region.
Photo by Chantelle Leavens
Read The Full Article, Click Here

IMG_8429 - Copy

UCR’s First Off-Road Fun Run

(November 2012 issue)
Membership reception to this first-off event was strong at the outset but actual participation faltered a bit when inclement weather threatened for the day of the outing. As with all UCR Fun Runs and Rallies, our events will never put the participating vehicles in harm’s way and maybe our membership just needs to understand that, while there will be something to challenge car and driver, these driving events are also big on the social aspect.
Photo by Jill Clements-Baartman
Read The Full Article, Click Here

DSC00655

Fifth Annual Muskoka Fall Fun Run

(November 2012 issue)
In the old days we had the Fall Colours Tour, sometimes including an overnight stay. Nowadays it’s a one day fun run with culinary experiences, all organized by UCR Director and Fun Run Chair David Forbes and his spouse Anne. Our members keep loving this event for the beautiful scenic drive and the Japanese cuisine at the end of the day.
Photo by James E. King
Read The Full Article, Click Here

Leave a Reply