DE Tech Inspections

Club News Forums General Forum DE Tech Inspections

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 28 total)
  • Author
    Wild Weasel
    Participant

My apologies for the noob questions… but I’m a noob. 🙂

I see that you need to get a tech inspection within 21 days of the event, so I expect we need an inspection for each event rather than getting one at the beginning of the season or something.

Can I get an idea of the average cost for this? Are we talking about $20, or $100 or something?

Secondly, I already got confirmation that the factory fire extinguisher is ok, even though it technically doesn’t meet the specs on the form. Do all the inspection centres know this or should I go to any specific ones to ensure this isn’t brought up as an issue?

Bisz
    Participant

Hi,

Cost for the tech inspection is an unusually reasonable $0.

No idea about the fire extinguisher, I didn’t think the oem one was acceptable since as you say it doesn’t meet the requirements listed.

Here is a question for you, do you know if the factory extinguisher will work with ventilated seats?

Wild Weasel
    Participant

Excellent!! I like $0. 🙂

Now… I’m looking all over for the info I got on the extinguisher. I can’t recall how I asked, but I got the answer here somewhere telling me the factory one will pass tech, despite the slight size issue. I’ll keep digging to try to find the email, or maybe someone of authority can put the answer up in here.

As for the ventilated seats… I’m not 100% sure what you’re asking me.

If you’re asking whether the factory mount will attach to them, then the answer is yes. I’ve got the 18-way ventilated seats and it came with the extinguisher on the passenger side. Whether or not there’s a specific mount for this, I have no idea.