Winter tires – where to buy and what brand

Club News Forums General Forum Winter tires – where to buy and what brand

Tagged: , ,

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous

Hi folks

Firstly, I’m a newbie, so a brief introduction:
    I moved to Canada 2 months ago, and bought my first Porsche 1 month ago (2007 C4S). I’m chuffed to bits with the car, and really enjoying living in Toronto. All in all, two good decisions! I’m hoping to meet a few of you at the upcoming socials.

I’m amazed I can’t find the answer to my question, and I have a sneaking suspicion that it may be my searching abilities, so I’ll apologize up front if this is a duplicate question. I have Googled it, but there are so many options out there I’m having trouble sorting the wheat from the chaff.

I only have the one car, and so will have to use it to commute during the winter. I’m going to need some winter tires. So:
    a) Which tires? Brand, etc? R18s or R19s?
    b) Which rims?
    c) Where to buy them in Toronto?
    d) I’ve probably missed something, so what else does a noob need to know?

Currently, the car has 305/30 R19s (rear), so according to my manual I’m going to need a new set of rims. The guy I bought it from said he had installed 5mm spacers. I guess I’ll need to remove these (or have them removed to be more accurate).

Thanks, Rob.

andy wright
    Participant

Hi Rob,
    Welcome to Canada. I’m an UK Expat of 37 years.

There are a number of resources for selecting winter tires & rims. My first suggestion is to go to http://www.tirerack.com There is a wealth of information on this site and you can enter your vehicles information to see what is recommended for winter tires & rims. Whether you buy from The Tire Rack is up to you, but it gives you the information of what to look for locally.